Users can become registered with your website in four different ways:
O3 has a sophisticated system for managing user authentication and permissions. See the Access Permissions page for details.
You can specify a level to give to a user as a 'Membership Product' - whereby the user buys the product and gets the access level defined for it. See the page on Products for more info.
Tech Tip: Details of the current user are kept in a GLOBAL array:
This is where all users of your website login (except affiliates). A default user is created during install called 'admin' password 'admin'. You can login with this ID to gain access to the restricted pages.
When a user logs in, a new session is created, and cookies are placed on their PC containing their 'user_id' and the 'session_id'. This is used to verify the users access on all protected pages. Each user has an 'Access Level' set in their profile, and each protected page has a 'Required Level'. If the user's level is less than the required level - the user doesn't get access. You can set any number of levels of access.
Once logged in the user is presented with a link to any page they were trying to access (prior to being forced to login) and your home page. They can change (some of) their details here, and logout.
The login page also allows users to have forgotten passwords emailed to them, and to clear all cookies set by the system.
You can enable FREE membership by enabling
You can enable COMMERCIAL memberships by setting the value of
You can have any number of 'Membership Products'. The O3 system will automatically display 'Buy' buttons for all products with a certain string in the name in the registration area. That string is defined in the variable
When a customer signs up for a membership, if the product name also contains the
The new user's details are automatically added to the DB when the sale completes and they are sent a confirmation email containing their login details and the email-text you've set for the product.
This is where you manage all the users of your website. You can filter, select, email and delete users here.
The top table is the 'Selection Criteria'. This is how you define which users to display. You can filter them by various characteristics and order them by the date they joined.
Next is the list of users. At the top, the count of matching users is displayed, and if there's more than 1 page of matches, links to the previous/next pages are shown.
Basic information about the user is shown including their email address, URL, and when they joined. You can email the user here, or visit their URL. You can also edit the user by clicking on their name. This brings up the 'Users Editor'.
You can send emails with an attachment to selected users, or all the users in the database. If you do the latter - the user's 'Contact' field is checked and if it's set to 'No' then the user is not included in the mailshot. You can change a contact setting either in the 'User Editor' or by clicking the 'Change Contact Setting' button here.
This page allows you to edit all a user's details. You can also create new users, delete users, and traverse the list of users using the 'Previous' and 'Next' links.
A user can logout from the login page once they're logged in. This page shows their user details at this point, with the option of updating them, instead of the login prompt.
You can put a logout link any where on your website using something like the following code:
A user can unsubscribe from mailings or delete themselves from your website at any point using the